Gallery Inn, Shi Wai Tao Yuan (Hua Lang Lü Guan 画廊旅馆,内厝澳)

Halfway up a hill in Nei Cuo Ao, this secluded fairytale bed-and-breakfast in an old stone house is one of the hidden gems of Kulangsu and, for that matter, of anywhere at all. You might expect t...

Continue Reading →

Yanwei Hill Time Cannon (Yan Wei Shan Sheng Tai Gong Yuan 燕尾山生态公园)

The Yanwei Hill Time Cannon Emplacement was set up by Xiamen Customs toward the end of the nineteenth century. The cannon used to fire once at twelve noon every Saturday so customs officers and passing vessels could synchronize their timepieces. The time cannon adopted the standard time in accordance with the clock on the Xiamen customs house. Today, items related to the time cannon are stil...

Continue Reading →

Zhongde Taoist Temple (Zhong De Gong 种德宫)

Zhongde Taoist Temple was built before 1662, and originally located to the west of Kulangsu, where the west slope of the north branch of Hen Hill met the small river. Known as “Da Dao Gong Temple”, the original temple was destroyed during the Qing Dynasty. The new temple was built in its current location in Nei Cuo Ao, and is now the only temple dedicated to the Baosheng Emperor. The origina...

Continue Reading →